Posey Restraint Programs

CMS Hospital Restraint and Seclusion Certification Program: Part 4

Part 4
Presented by Kelly Gettman
RN, BSN, MBA in Healthcare
Patient Safety & Quality Assurance RN

Course Overview:
If a CMS surveyor arrived at your hospital tomorrow, would you be prepared? Does your staff currently understand all 50 pages of the CMS interpretive guidelines and survey procedures? This four-part webinar series will simplify the CMS Hospital Conditions of Participation requirements on restraint and seclusion. Those seeking certification must pass one test per session. A certificate will be issued upon completion of all four sessions and test, which will be valid for two years.

Learning Objectives:
• Recall that the American Psychiatric Nurses Association has a standard of practice on restraint and seclusion
• Discuss that CMS has a long-term care restraint tool that may be helpful to hospitals
• Describe whether a pressure-sensitive safety alarm can ever be construed as a restraint
• List some of the risks of using a restraint
  • CMS Hospital Restraint and Seclusion Certification Program Part 4
  • Part 4 Test
  • Part 4 Survey
Completion rules
  • All units must be completed
  • Leads to a certificate with a duration: 2 years